#41: “I figure you gotta be the dumbest guy in the world, Joe. You’re trying the save the life of the man who ruined your career, and avenge the death of the guy that fucked your wife.”

lastboyscout

 

#41: The Last Boy Scout — dir. Tony Scott

Shane Black.  If there’s a fault to my writing, it’s that I’ve been spending my entire career trying to balance myself between Kevin Smith and Shane Black.  I love snappy fucking dialogue that’s way too clever and precious for its own good.  I don’t care.  I don’t care if it’s pretentious.  I don’t care if it’s stylistically suspect.  I just don’t care.  I love it.

The Last Boy Scout is such a dark fucking movie.  Holy Christ.  It opens with a football player committing suicide.  Danielle Harris as Darien Hollenback is a foul-mouthed ball of wretchness and hormones.  The quote that leads this piece pretty much sums up the whole movie.  It’s a buddy comedy where the concept of “adjusting to one another” takes on a whole nother dimension. I had such a hard time coming up with a quote because most of the dialogue requires exchanges.  It’s lightning fast and smart-ass as fuck.  Bruce Willis and Damon Wayans spend the entire film carving each other to ribbons.  Almost everything out of anyone’s mouth is cutting and acidic.  It’s such a brutal amazing flick.

So yeah, it trumps the other Tony Scott films on my list.  I’m a sucker for witty, high octane action.  Shit, Michael Bay almost found his way on the list because of Bad Boys.  Most of the time, action is formulaic, and clearly assembled from popular merchandise that needs to be sold.  But this, this is almost a giant fuck you to formula.  Strangely enough, this follows the same formulaic road, but it seems to be doing it by climbing outside the car and giving the finger to the driver inside the whole ride.  Maybe Shane Black is just Tarantino without the kung-fu boner, but goddamn do I love his movies.

 

Leave a Reply

