#39: “You know, they call me the cautionary whale.”

juno

#39: Juno — dir. Jason Reitman

It’s been hipster hit, and Diablo Cody has been dragged over more coals than a steak by a newbie griller.  The dialogue has been raged as too precious and twee, the hamburger phone has become a fucking statement of intent for this film, and blah blah blah.  I do not give a shit.  Juno still makes me happy.  I love the twee dialogue.  I love the way it was assembled, I love the over the top exchanges, and I love the nasty subversity of the images.

Look at the picture I chose.  I specifically found this image because it explains why I love the candy coated acidity of the script.  A pregnant teenager is wearing a Slinky shirt.  What’s the theme song of Slinky?  “What goes downstairs…”  Pushing a woman downstairs is also called an Irish abortion.  It’s a subtle, throwaway, dark-as-fucking-midnight joke, and it’s never acknowledged in the film.  I love shit like that.

And for me, it really is a cautionary whale.  Diablo Cody wrote a fantastic script, won an Oscar for it, and people shit all over her.  I probably did somewhere in the heyday of my heinous film critic phase.  Fucking stripper thinks she’s a screenwriter?!  Know what?  That day she fucking was.   It’s the same with The Landlord, the Will Ferrell-Adam McKay short with McKay’s daughter Pearl shouting at Ferrell.  That makes me crack up.  And the comments I’ve seen on the video:  “Farrel got PWONED BY A BABy.”  “Will is sooooo unfunny.”  “That’s child abuse!”  “Shouting babies aren’t funny. It’s like, learn comedy.”  And so forth.

People are fucking assholes.  And I’ve learned to tune them out, homeskillet.

Leave a Reply

