#8: “You know, there’s a million fine looking women in the world, dude. But they don’t all bring you lasagna at work. Most of ’em just cheat on you.”

Clerks

#8: Clerks — dir. Kevin Smith

I’ve already pretty much said all I can say about this film here: http://www.pajiba.com/think_pieces/our-cinematic-autobiography-clerks.php

This was inspirational to me, for good or for bad.  I’ve followed Kevin Smith’s career my whole life.  And then I got bored with him.  And now he’s starting to do interesting stuff again.  I’m curious about Tusk.  I don’t know if it’s just sort of a throwaway or if it’s legit got potential.  If it’ll mean something, or if it’s just crazy.

I’ve always aspired to follow the Kevin Smith arc in my life.  But I don’t think I have.  Now as I approach my 37th year (37!), I’m curious.  I always had the kind of pioneer spirit.  Only I’ve been a bit of a pussy about it.  I’ve been Dante, and I’ve got to knock that shit off.  I sit around bitching and pissing and moaning about how everything is so unfair and how life just keeps shitting on me.  But I did this all to myself.  I opened the fucking store today.  My job can be done by a monkey.  I don’t pay attention to what I have.  And that’s kind of fucking lame.

I need to get back to that place where I’m fucking ready to bet everything — where I’ll build up massive credit card debt to make a shitty black and white film with barely any action just for something I believe in.  I can do that again.  And this kind of paved the way.

Also, Kevin Smith sort of went through a blue period.  Well, his was more green.  He got all weed obsessed and then just kind of became Colonel Kurtz.  Well, I went through my red period.  Mine was all anger and frustration and paranoia.  I’m trying real hard to be the shepherd, Ringo.  And remembering my roots helps.

Leave a Reply

