CBR #97 – At Least He’s Not a Fucking Lumberjack

Dexter is Dead by Jeff Lindsay

Dexter the television series had long since departed from the plotline of Dexter the book series.  So I was fine consuming the two media separately.  Lindsay’s Dexter is this whimsical poetic sociopath.  And his version is much different and much darker and much more haunting.  I didn’t like the books as much as the series, but then the two swapped for me right around the same time.  And strangely, they hit the same notes, but I think Lindsay did it better.

Now, what was essentially super curious to me, was that Lindsay got to see how they ended the television series before he wrote his final Dexter book.  And goddamn did they fuck the bunny and screw the pooch at the same time with that one.  Oof.  It seemed like it was going right.  And then it didn’t.  Was it corporate forcing their hand?  Overlords are notorious for dipping their dicks unwanted in their final projects to keep doors ajar and starlets happy. But then, BRAWNY.  BOOM.  He’s a lumberjack, and it’s not okay.

So Lindsay saw everyone pissed and knew well, let’s not do that.  And so he finished his series his way.  Was I satisfied?  Yeeeeessss?  Maybe probably.  I respected his ending. I thought it was a bit florid, as is Lindsay’s wont.  All the pretty flowery words, so poesy.  Much showoff.

It’s an appropriate ending for Dexter.  It maybe leaves a door open?  But I think Lindsay is like nope.  Though.  THOUGH.  Here’s the thing I always liked about the books.  Astor and Cody have Dark Passengers like Dexter.  Would I read a Lil’ Urban Bodyhackers series?  Darn fucking tootin’.  So that’s the door.  I don’t know.

POTENTIAL SPOILER, SO DON’T READ ON:  I’d read a Dexter series without Dexter in it.  I’d read another whole book, or even three about the aftermath of Dexter dying, when he did, how he did, if he did in the wake of all the shit that was spun.  He ain’t no lumberjack, but we’re left to believe he is fish food.  Then again, who knows?

Leave a Reply

